Well, for starters I have a bike. At some point I'll actually remember to take a picture of it. It's pretty rickety looking. Learning the new rules of the road has been pretty interesting, too. And wending my way through all the other cyclists on bitty roads has certainly been an experience...
I had my first two classes today. At 9am I had my first Theory of Political Culture lecture....in Dutch. Apparently someone somewhere got confused and thought the whole class was taught in English. Fortunately, I'm in the English language seminar, and I've spoken to two of the professors. They said if I do the readings for the lectures, I will be fine. They called me "courageous" when I said I was still going to show up to all the lectures, with my laptop so I can translate words I can't figure out on the power points. We'll see how this goes. If I don't end up figuring it out this way, I guess I'll just be going in to office hours frequently.
We started today with Democracy in ancient Greece. Next Tuesday we're covering politics in Medieval Europe, and after that we're doing the French Revolution, and finally the 20th century. Have I possibly studied some of these topics before? Possibly.
My International Human Rights Protection looks like it's going to be really interesting, although it looks like I'm going to need to be checking up on human rights-related news daily. It's going to be a project.
Gender Studies doesn't start for two more weeks. Scandinavian Literature from 1900 starts on Friday. Hopefully those will both be fun.
Nothing else to report for now!